What we do

What we do 2018-03-27T15:18:36+00:00

The Department for Education states that school governing bodies should focus on three core strategic functions:

1. Ensuing clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

In order to carry out these important functions, there is a full Governing Body meeting at least once a term. The formal minutes of these meetings are made available on this website once they have been approved.

Under our Instrument of Government (2014) the Governing Body comprises 14 governors. The Chair and the Vice-chair are elected annually from their number. The governors are nominated or elected by staff, parents, the Church Foundation, Local Authority or diocese. They can also be chosen by the governing body for their particular skill. You can find out more about our governors on the ‘Who we are’ page.

Governing Body Membership 2017-18

Ben Driver (Chair) Parent Governor
Natalie Robinson Parent Governor
Ieke Hilmy (Vice Chair) Foundation Governor (Trustees)
Hugo Clark Foundation Governor (Trustees)
Katherine Cox Foundation Governor (Trustees)
Eloise Leeson Foundation Governor (PCC)
Robin Shute Foundation Governor (PCC)
Victoria Busby Foundation Governor (PCC)
Christina Sturge Co-opted Governor
Alexandra Hazard LDBS Governor
Anneliese Jacklin LA Governor
Ruth Knight Staff Governor
Jeff Hopkins Williams (Rev) ex officio (St Mary’s Church)
Angela Abrahams ex officio (Headteacher)

In addition to the above, Associate Members are appointed by the Governing Body as members of committees, on which they have full voting rights. The current Associate Members are Rhys Williams and Piotr Ashwin-Siejkowski

The majority of governors’ business is administered through its committees, which meet at least once each term:

Curriculum and Standards
Finance and Staffing
Leadership Appraisal
Safety and Community

If you would like to contact the Governing Body you can do so in the following ways:
Email: governors@st-marys.richmond.sch.uk

Letter: drop a note into the school offices addressed to the Chair of Governors

The Clerk to St Mary’s Governing Body is Alison Watts